Mission Statement
Protecting emergency responders at roadway incidents through collaboration, advocacy, networking and training.
Click here to learn more...
Register Now!

Secondary Reporting

Downloadable Blocking Video

RSLN Promo

ResponderSafety Featured Videos

About Us
Mission Statement

Created as a Committee of the Cumberland Valley Volunteer Firemen's Association, the Institute serves as an informal advisory panel of public safety leaders committed to reducing deaths and injuries to America's Emergency Responders. Members of the Institute, all highly influential and expert in their fields, are personally dedicated to the safety of the men and women who respond to emergencies on our nation’s streets, roads and highways. Members of the Institute include trainers, writers, managers, government officials, technical experts and leaders in the public safety world who through their individual efforts and collective influence can bring meaningful change.

The Institute is working to implement the recommendations in the CVVFA White Paper: Protecting Emergency Responders on the Highways.

CVVFA Emergency Responder Safety Institute Membership

Honorary Chairman United States Senator Chris Coons (DE)

Walter Robertson-President Cumberland Valley Volunteer Firemen’s Association

Fire Police Officer Stephen P. Austin-Project Manager

Chief Greg Yost - Chief Financial Officer

Fire Police Officer Jerry Daniels-Chief Administration Officer

Firefighter/EMT Howard Cohen Esq. -Legal Counsel

Chief Harry R. Carter PhD, CFO-Editor in Chief

Jack Sullivan CSP, CFPS-Director of Training

Assistant Chief Ron Moore (Ret.)-Chief Instructor

Fire Police Officer Stephen E. Heefner-CVVFA Home Office Manager

Chief Gene Worthington-CVVFA Recording Secretary

Captain Tom Martin VA State Police (Ret.) - Senior Law Enforcement Advisor

Chief Allen Brunacini (Ret.)-Senior Fire Service Advisor

Chief Richard Marinucci-Liaison to the Federal Highway Administration

Chief Ed Mann PA State Fire Commissioner  (Ret.) - Continuing Education Manager
Chief William Peterson (Ret.) - Director of Certification

Louis J. Amabli-Panel Member and Co-Author America Burning

Chief Allen Baldwin- Winchester VA Fire and Rescue Department

Chief John Buckman - Past President International Association of Fire Chiefs

Chief Dennis Compton-Chairman National Fallen Firefighters Foundation

Chief Robert Cumberland-Past President Maryland State Firemen’s Association

Chief Emeritus James L. Cubbage Jr.-Past President Delaware Volunteer Firefighters Association

Chief Steven B. Edwards-Director Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute

Chief Robert Fleming Ed. D., CFO-Professor, Rowan University

Craig Floyd-Chairman National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund

Paramedic James Garcia-Highway Incident Victim

Deputy Chief Billy Goldfeder - Loveland-Symmes OH FD

Firefighter Chris Hebert-Co-Founder Firehouse.com

Chief William Jenaway PhD, CFO -Executive Vice President VFIS

Chief Joseph Kroboth-Washington County MD Department of Emergency Services, Surviving Family Member

Virginia Lutz-Field Investigator NIOSH Firefighter Fatality Investigation and Prevention Program (Ret.)

Chief Gary Morris-Scottsdale AZ (Ret.)

Chief T.J. Nedrow-Washington State Director, National Volunteer Fire Council

Kevin O’Connor- Special Assistant to the General President, International Association of Fire Fighters

Dr. Denis Onieal- Superintendent National Fire Academy

Chief Donald Oliver-Past President National Society of Executive Fire Officers

Chief Dennis Rubin (Ret.)-Washington DC Fire and EMS Department

Chief Ronald J. Siarnicki-Executive Director National Fallen Firefighters Foundation

Michael Wieder- Executive Director, International Fire Service Training Association

Chief Emeritus Crawford Wiestling-West End Fire & Rescue Company Shippensburg PA
National Unified Goal for Traffic Incident Management
Click here for more info

"Everyone goes Home"
A national effort to end line of duty deaths.
Portions of news supplied by:
Funding and Support Provided By:

United States Fire Administration

This Web site is funded in part, through a grant from the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Neither the U.S. Department of Justice nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse, this Web site (including, without limitation, its content, technical infrastructure, and policies, and any services or tools provided).
Portions of this site is funded by grants from the Assistance to Firefighters Grant Program of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS).