About Us

Mission Statement of the Emergency Responder Safety Institute

Created as a Committee of the Cumberland Valley Volunteer Firemen's Association, the Institute serves as an informal advisory panel of public safety leaders committed to reducing deaths and injuries to America's Emergency Responders. Members of the Institute, all highly influential and expert in their fields, are personally dedicated to the safety of the men and women who respond to emergencies on our nation’s streets, roads and highways. Members of the Institute include trainers, writers, managers, government officials, technical experts and leaders in the public safety world who through their individual efforts and collective influence can bring meaningful change.

The Institute is working to implement the recommendations in the CVVFA White Paper: Protecting Emergency Responders on the Highways.

*CVVFA Emergency Responder Safety Institute Membership *

Honorary Chairman United States Senator Chris Coons (DE)

Hoby Howell-President Cumberland Valley Volunteer Firemen’s Association

Fire Police Officer Stephen P. Austin-Project Manager

Chief Greg Yost - CVVFA Home Office Manager

James Kimble-Chief Financial Officer

Fire Police Captain Jerry Daniels-Chief Administration Officer

Firefighter/EMT Howard Cohen Esq. -Legal Counsel

Chief Harry R. Carter PhD, CFO-Editor in Chief

Jack Sullivan CSP, CFPS-Director of Training

Assistant Chief Ron Moore (Ret.)-Chief Instructor

Chief Doug DeHaven-CVVFA Recording Secretary

Captain Tom Martin VA State Police (Ret.) - Senior Law Enforcement Advisor

Chief Richard Marinucci- Executive Director Fire Department Safety Officers Association

Chief Ed Mann PA State Fire Commissioner  (Ret.) - Continuing Education Manager

Chief William Peterson (Ret.) - Director of Certification

Meri-K Appy- Director of Public Education and Prevention

Chief Allen Baldwin- Winchester VA Fire and Rescue Department

Chief John Buckman - Past President International Association of Fire Chiefs

Chief Dennis Compton-Chairman National Fallen Firefighters Foundation

Chief Robert Cumberland-Past President Maryland State Firemen’s Association

Chief Emeritus James L. Cubbage Jr.-Past President Delaware Volunteer Firefighters Association

Chief Steven B. Edwards-Director Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute

Chief Robert Fleming Ed. D., CFO-Professor, Rowan University

Craig Floyd-Chairman National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund

Paramedic James Garcia-Highway Incident Victim

Deputy Chief Billy Goldfeder - Loveland-Symmes OH FD

Firefighter Chris Hebert-Co-Founder Firehouse.com

Chief William Jenaway PhD, CFO -Executive Vice President VFIS

Chief Joseph Kroboth- Surviving Family Member

Virginia Lutz-Field Investigator NIOSH Firefighter Fatality Investigation and Prevention Program (Ret.)

Chief Gary Morris-Scottsdale AZ (Ret.)

Chief T.J. Nedrow-Washington State Director, National Volunteer Fire Council

Kevin O’Connor- Special Assistant to the General President, International Association of Fire Fighters (Ret.)

Dr. Denis Onieal- Deputy United States Fire Administration

Chief Donald Oliver-Past President National Society of Executive Fire Officers

Chief Dennis Rubin -Petersburg VA Fire Department

Chief Ronald J. Siarnicki-Executive Director National Fallen Firefighters Foundation

Michael Wieder- Executive Director, International Fire Service Training Association

Chief Emeritus Crawford Wiestling-West End Fire & Rescue Company Shippensburg PA

Scroll to top